Three Beta Omicron brothers awarded $2,500 for going Ôextra mileÕ

Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity members David Johnson, a sophomore from Denham Springs, Noah Baudoin, a freshman from Shreveport, and Thomas Malbrough, a sophomore from Mandeville, were the winners of the scholarships, which totaled $2,500 in cash awards. Malbrough plans to use his $700 check to support his participation in Pi Kappa Phi’s Journey of Hope this summer.

A record total of nine brothers qualified to apply for the Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship, a program started by Morgan in 2008 for the Beta Omicron chapter. An entrepreneur, an insurance executive, and a leader within his industry, his alma mater and his fraternity, Brother Morgan has spent a considerable amount of his life helping others toward success.

The Extra Mile Scholarship Program recognizes academic performance by brothers who are active within the fraternity, on the campus and in the community. It rewards brothers who “go the Extra Mile” by making positive impact in several areas, with brothers who hold down jobs given bonus points in the scoring process to determine winners.

At the core of the Morgan Extra Mile Scholarship Program is the philosophy that a brother who works hard, applies his talents and “goes the extra mile” will find success at Northwestern State and in life after college.

The scholarships are awarded once each semester. Winners are commemorated on a plaque displayed prominently at the Beta Omicron chapter house. Over $40,000 has been distributed to deserving brothers of Beta Omicron thanks to Brother Morgan.

This spring’s dinner was particularly remarkable thanks to inspiring remarks made by two student affairs staff members, Reatha Cox and Yonna Pasch.

Cox has been a staff member at her beloved alma mater for 28 years, and her impact on Beta Omicron has been immense. She was at the core of the chapter’s rechartering process in 1999-2000 and has seen the fraternity re-emerge as a Greek leader during her years of service.

Read Full Article