Mark E. Timmes Honored with Durward W. Owen Interfraternal Service Award

This year, the SEIFC Executive Board voted to create a new award to recognize individuals for their long-time service to the fraternity movement. From this point on, each year, SEIFC will give out the Durward W. Owen Interfraternal Service Award to someone who has committed at least 20 years of service to fraternity and sorority life.

Mark was initiated in the Alpha Epsilon Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi at the University of Florida in 1976. In 1977, Mark was elected as archon and went on to become Pi Kappa Phi’s Student of the Year in 1979. He also attended SEIFC in 1979 while serving as IFC President. After graduation Mark joined the fraternity staff as director of communications.

After leaving staff Mark returned to the University of Florida for law school. Mark practiced law in the state of Florida for 10 years before returning to staff where he currently serves as CEO of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity, the Pi Kappa Phi Foundation and Pi Kappa Phi Properties.

Mark has guided the fraternity through multiple strategic phases, including the award-winning Journey Project in 1995, the America’s Leading Fraternity Initiative in 2000, Pi Kappa Phi’s Second Century Vision through 2014 and the current implementation of Uncommon Leadership: The 2020 Strategic Plan for Pi Kappa Phi. He also guided the organization through two major rebrands including the most recent in 2014.

He is a respected member of the interfraternal community, serving as president of the Fraternity Executives’ Association in 2010-2011. He served as FEA Liason to SEIFC from 1996 to 2003.

In his 20 years as the Pi Kappa Phi chief executive officer, he has overseen the initiation of 45,000 men and the expansion to 54 new campuses bringing the total number of chartered chapters to 230.

On a daily basis he oversees a staff of over 40, a volunteer base of more than 2,000, over 12,000 undergraduates at 186 chapters and associate chapters and more than 100,000 living alumni.

Congratulations to Mark E. Timmes, the first recipient of the Durward W. Owen Interfraternal Service Award.