Iota Rho Chapter Very Busy in 2018

Over the summer, Marc Ramirez (131) and Chris Scheer (103) participated in Build America where they traveled to six different disability camps. The camps consisted of The Woodlands Foundation in Wexford, PA; Holy Angels in Belmont, NC; Camp CAMP in Center Point, TX; Camp Allyn in Batavia, OH; Camp Big Sky in Fairview, IL; and Camp Sunnyside in Des Moines, IA.

Earlier in the semester we had 12 members, including associates, participate in the Ability Weekend in Des Moines, Iowa at Camp Sunnyside. The members that attended were Shayan Khamesieh, Alex Fosket, Tyler Pradin, Robert Lundgren, Brock Deske, Dustin Brown (60), Ryan Wands (115), Marc Ramirez, Herb Sommer (114), Tate Dowell (125), and Frank Vollmer (129). Scheer was able to serve as a Facilitator for the weekend. There they worked on a ramp for a shed, and took down a lot of props and camp equipment such as boats to get the camp ready for winter.

This upcoming summer, Justin Brown (136) and Derek Lahey (112) will be participating in Journey of Hope as cyclists.

On November 4, 2018, Iota Rho initiated 15 members into our brotherhood. Those members are Nimit Zaveri (145), Alex Fosket (146), Gabe Ertmer (147), Edwin Hernandez (148), Shayan Khamesieh (149), Payton Colletti-Muhs (150), Dominick Catinella (151), Dexter Baker (152), Damian Sathoff (153), Aldo Hernandez(154), Robert Lundgren (155), Tyler Pradin (156), Kyle Ramlow (157), Brock Deske (158), and Sergio Wilson (159). We are excited to see what the Iota class can do for our chapter.

As members of Pi Kappa Phi, we strive to make a difference within our community, University and our chapter. Derek Lahey, Joshua Cook (135), and Dalton Mann (98) all received Extra Mile awards for their contributions to Iota Rho. We also have a number of members who serve our University through different clubs and societies ranging from Senators-at-Large for the Student Government Association to News Editor of the Western Courier, the University newspaper.

During homecoming, the Historian, Dakotah Baker (124), put on a house project to help clean up an old rock patch and the rocks leading up to the Iota Rho house. After the project was over Iota Rho presented its second Thirty under 30 award, presented to Caleb Markey (6).

We have a number of members participate in our Presidents Round Table where we get to voice our concerns and opinions on things happening with our University and help make a change. Along with serving our University, we had two members serve on the Interfraternity Council for Western Illinois University. Brady Smith (110) served as the IFC President and Nathan Simon (100) served as the IHC-SGA liaison in 2018. For the spring semester Preston Bubb (128) will serve as the IFC President and Pradin as the Vice President of Membership. Our chapter was able to obtain the Circle of Giving Grant this semester. It’s only given out to ten chapters and it’s a check for $1,300. The chapter that gets it gives it to an organization that they choose that believe shares the same values as they do with their philanthropy. We decided to give it to Western Illinois University Best Buddies chapter. This was a huge help to the local chapter and it was two and a half times their budget they allotted per semester.

As the old executive board transition out of being in office we introduced our new one. The executive board consists of Chris Scheer (Archon), Preston Bubb (Vice Archon), Justin Brown (Treasurer), Derek Lahey (Secretary), Tate Dowell (Warden), Frank Vollmer (Chaplain), Ryan Wands (Historian), Kyle Ramlow (Philanthropy chairman), Omar Alcala (140) (Risk Management), and Brady Smith (122) (House Manager).

The Iota Rho chapter is determined to continue to make great strides within our own chapter as well at Western Illinois University.