A toast to greatness

With a special toast, Christian Adam Wiggins ’03, Shelby Lewis ’16, Rodney L. Parks and Jana Lynn Patterson were celebrated for their contributions to the LGBT community on Oct. 17 during the annual Elon LGBT Community Enrichment Awards ceremony.

The event, part of the Homecoming 2015 festivities, included remarks from President Leo M. Lambert, Michael Bumbry ’07, LGBTQIA Alumni Network president, and Ben Smith ’09, chair of the LGBTQIA Alumni Network’s awards and recognition commitee.

The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex and Ally (LGBTQIA) Alumni Network strives to improve the campus climate for members of the Elon community by advocating on behalf of LGBTQIA issues and partnering with others to build an inclusive and respectful community.

Christian Adam Wiggins ’03

Christian A. Wiggins, who graduated from Elon with a bachelor’s degree in business administration, was actively involved in residence life and the Student Government Association where he served as student body treasurer for two terms and student body president. He was also a founding father for this chapter of Pi Kappa Phi, served as chapter president and was recognized by his national fraternity as president of the year in 2003.

Wiggins was named assistant executive director of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity in May 2008 and was promoted to Chief Operating Officer in 2011. He is past president of multiple boards, including the Elon University Charlotte Alumni Chapter Board, the Elon Young Alumni Council and the Elon Alumni Board. Most recently, Wiggins was named chairman of Campus Pride’s board of directors, the governing board for a national nonprofit that focuses on campus safety and leadÂership skills for collegiate LGBT youth.

Read Full Article