Pi Kappa Phi Announces Summer Award Recipients

Each summer, Pi Kappa Phi recognizes its most outstanding alumni and undergraduate members with its highest honors. Traditionally, these awards are presented annually at either Supreme Chapter or at Summer Alumni Reunion. The winners of the following awards were announced at the Supreme Chapter Virtual Experience on July 16, 2020, for the commendable service and dedication to Pi Kappa Phi.

Mr. Pi Kappa Phi

John Andrews, Delta Delta (Truman State)

Having served as Chapter Archon, Area Governor, National President, Chairman of the Pi Kappa Phi Foundationand in many other roles for the organization, John has displayed a lifetime of service to our fraternity and in each role he fulfilled, the list of accomplishments are significant.  As the Chairman of the Pi Kappa Phi Foundation, John chaired the largest and most successful fundraising campaign in our organization’s history, raising over nine million dollars. John went on as the leading impetus for the Make Your Mark planned giving campaignurging brothers to recognize the Fraternity in a legacy gift. To date, the campaign has accrued 13 million dollars in expectant gifts from 141 brothers and their families. These are just a few of the significant accomplishments in a lifetime of service that John has made to our fraternity. 

Hall of Fame

Kelley A. Bergstrom, Alpha Omicron (Iowa State)

Kelley has had a distinguished career in real estate, including serving as CEO and President of JMB Properties Company, one of the world’s largest real estate investment and management companiesFollowing his successful tenure at JMB Properties, Kelley started his own company, Bergstrom Investment Management which he continues to lead very successfully today with his daughter Allison.  In addition to his professional career, Kelley has modeled the way as a successful philanthropist, including service as Chairman to the Iowa State University and University of Florida Foundations, the Pi Kappa Phi Foundation, creating the topranked Kelley A. Bergstrom Real Estate Center at the University of Florida, and as the namesake of Pi Kappa Phi’s national headquarters located at the Kelley A. Bergstrom Leadership Center.

Durward W. Owen, Xi (Roanoke)

For 35 years, Durward Owen was recognized and respected throughout the Greek world as a top fraternity executive and an interfraternal thought-leader. He served as president of two major interfraternal organizations – Fraternity Executives Association and the Fraternity Communications Association. He created FIPG, a risk management association, and the Fraternity Risk Management Trust, an interfraternal captive insurance company. Durward is considered a legend by many long-time interfraternal leaders and the impact that he has left not only on Pi Kappa Phi, but the entire Interfraternity world is astonishing.  He has done so much to benefit our great fraternity and only more firmly solidifies his standing in the annals of Pi Kappa Phi history.  Durward is in a class of his own when it comes to his successes and accomplishments as a fraternity executive.

Interfraternal Leader of the Year Award

Stephen Greep, Alpha Epsilon (Florida)

As a student leader, Stephen served his chapter as both secretary and archon and now serves as the IFC President at the University of Florida. As IFC President, he oversees a council of 24 chapters and over 2,600 fraternity men. During his time as IFC President, he created Thrive IFC, the council’s first initiative centered around wellness and brotherhood support for the community, and has also started to refocus the council’s efforts towards Sexual Assault Prevention Education.

Howard H. Baker Leadership Award

Luke Turner, Kappa Delta (Florida Atlantic)

As student body president, Luke wrote and established legislation for mental health, student safety, diversity & inclusion, and campus involvement. In addition to serving as Philanthropy Chairman for his chapter, he was involved in two different professional fraternities outside of Pi Kappa Phi, and he was inducted in the Ad Astra Society in 2019

Phillip M. Summers Student of the Year Award

Patrick Lucitt, Delta Delta (Truman State)

Patrick is a Pi Kapp College for Emerging Leaders graduate, a past Archon and Secretary, a twoterm member of the Council of Archons, and a twotime Pi Alpha. He not only participated in these programs, but also went on to serve in leadership roles as the Project Manager for Build Americaas an intern for Pi Kapp College for Emerging Leaders, and most recently served as the student representative to our Nominating CommitteeIn addition to his service to Pi Kappa Phi and The Ability Experience, he also served his campus as the IFC President.