Login to PiKapp.org


Charles O. Moka Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Benefiting the Upsilon Chapter at University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)


Charles MokaOn March 7, 2003, Charles O. Moka Jr., a sophomore at the University of Illinois, joined the Upsilon Chapter as an Associate Member. That year, he was one of dozens of men recruited as Refounding Fathers for the chapter. 

Moka served as the Associate Chapter’s first Treasurer that spring semester, helping to lead the young chapter in such a critically important area.  The following year in February, he was elected Archon. 

This was a critical time in the young chapter’s history.  The chapter was busy working to fulfill the requirements needed for chartering, and Moka was the perfect candidate for the task, leading Upsilon with enthusiasm and skill.  He threw himself into his work, not only bringing credit to Pi Kappa Phi through his involvement in other organizations but also in his visible commitment to all chapter activities. 

Tragically, on August 19, 2004, Moka passed to Chapter Eternal due to complications arising from sickle cell anemia. His absence left a hole in the hearts of those who knew him and left a leadership vacant in the fraternity he had worked so hard to create.

Inspired by his memory, the men of the Upsilon Chapter continued their work and it was re chartered on February 19, 2005.  At that time, all Associate Members were initiated into the fraternity, including Moka (who was posthumously initiated as the chapter’s 1,000th initiate). 


The Charles O. Moka Jr. Memorial Scholarship recognizes one undergraduate member of the Upsilon (Illinois) Chapter each spring with a $1,000 grant.

To be eligible, an applicant must:

  • Be an initiated member of the Upsilon Chapter of Pi Kappa Phi Fraternity.
  • Be enrolled as a fulltime student at The University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign).
  • Have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.
  • Complete the entire application.

Previous Recipients:

Anthony Bednarek

Drew Martin

Marty Schatz

Kyle McClatchey

Jonathon Cerqua

Andrew Luckman

Zachary Dahl